Surrealist Poetry? Dali meets Milligan via McKee

Burning Giraffe

from http://divinedali.tumblr.com/

Yesterday, I was in a Modernist Gallery in Oxford, viewing a selection of Salvador Dali’s surreal sketches.  I love his work.  One, which I cannot find online yet, was of a bishop throwing a flaming Giraffe from a tower.  I would have liked to have bought it, but only have the bus fare at the moment!

Anyway, some of you will know that I Am the Banana Poet – I write poetry (doggerel usually) on my partner’s banana daily… a delight for her lunch-box and a constant challenge to my creativity.

Today, I was inspired to fuse Spike Milligan’s almost surrealist style with the sketch by Dali that had clearly captured my imagination.

Here is the result:

A Flaming Giraffe

(Just for a laugh)

Was thrown from a tower by the Clergy;

But I think you will find

The Giraffe didn’t mind

‘Cos he’d given the Bishop the lurgy.

Sic.

A Flaming Giraffe Banana

Leave a Reply

