Poem: Sleep In, In Summer

I’d love to sleep in,

Lazily in Summer,

But with the windows open

It can be a bit of a bummer…

The neighbour’s motorbike,

At 8 o’clock,

Revved 14 times

Before he’s off.

Like sheep, I counted every one

That really wasn’t all that much fun.

 

Each door in turn of another’s car,

slammed to check,

In case of what?

Flippin’ heck!

 

And then the sparrows

“Tweet, tweet, tweet…”

I think I’ll get up

And abandon sleep!

 

Don’t they know

It’s my day off

I wish they’d all just…

Leave a Reply

